CAMERON Smith was awarded the Greg Norman Medal for the second time in three years at the PGA Awards at Brisbane City Hall last November.

Also victorious in 2020, Smith claimed Australian golf’s highest honour ahead of a stellar field, including the 2021 winner and 2022 Women’s US Open champion, Minjee Lee.

The Greg Norman Medal – Australian golf’s most prestigious award – is presented to Australia’s best male or female tour professional on the international stage. The winner is determined based on annual success across all professional tours.

Smith’s receipt of the Greg Norman Medal follows a career-best season. Headlined by a maiden major victory at the 150th Open Championship, Smith climbed as high as No. 2 in the world rankings in 2022. 

Cam Smith shows off the Greg Norman Medal. Photo courtesy of the PGA of Australia.

His strong string of performances also broke new ground in golf, as Smith shot a PGA Tour record of 34-under par to start the year with a win at the Sentry Tournament of Champions in Hawaii. Making the most of his good form, he followed it up with victory at THE PLAYERS Championship in March. 

“I’ve got to thank my family first and foremost,” said Smith. “Mum and Dad gave up a lot for me to play golf.”

The judges for the Greg Norman Medal were PGA of Australia chair Rodger Davis, WPGA Tour life member Karrie Webb, WPGA Tour president Julia Boland, PGA life member Peter O’Malley and PGA board member Ian Baker-Finch.

Judging of the Greg Norman Medal is based on a combination of objective and subjective criterion, with the panel taking many factors into consideration, including results and rankings.

PGA awards winners:

Greg Norman Medal: Cameron Smith;
ISPS Handa PGA Tour of Australasia Player of the Year: Dimitrios Papadatos;
SParms PGA Legends Tour Player of the Year: Andre Stolz;
Margie Masters WPGA Tour Player of the Year: Hannah Green;
PGA of Australia National Coach of the Year – High Performance: Grant Field;
PGA of Australia National Coach of the Year – Game Development: John Collins;
PGA of Australia National Club Professional of the Year: Joe Janison;
PGA of Australia National Management Professional of the Year: Des Shearer; 
PGA of Australia International Member of the Year: Duc Pham;
PGA of Australia National Associate of the Year: Mitchell Smith; and
MyGolf Deliverer of the Year: Tybin Lawson.


About David Newbery

Chief writer David Newbery has been living, breathing and writing and editing golf for more than 30 years. His extensive knowledge of the game comes from covering golf around the world. Hired by Inside Golf in 2009, David previously worked as the editor of The Golfer for 25 years and before that worked for numerous daily newspapers in Australia and overseas. The Brisbane-based journalist describes his golf game as “a work in progress”, but has had the privilege of playing golf with some of the game’s best players including nine-time major winner Gary Player. David enjoys travelling, reading, music, photography and spending time with family and friends – on and off the golf course.


View all Posts Visit Website