WINNERS ARE GRINNERS: Inside Golf's Richard Fellner (left) with ALPG CEO Warren Sevil (Photo by Andrew Brownbill)

The Australian Golf Writers Association (AGWA) last week announced the winners of the 2011-2012 Australian Golf Media Awards, an annual event honouring excellence in golf media.

Inside Golf editor Richard Fellner was awarded the highly esteemed “Best Column – Print” award for his monthly Starters Box column, which has generated acclaim over the past 12 months for its “outside of the box” viewpoints on subjects including Club membership models, alternative club strategiesGroup Buying, Junior & Women’s golf, golf attire, club consolidation, the media,  and more.

“I’m deeply honoured to win this award,” says Fellner. “With the high calibre of writers in the Australian Media — not to mention some truly spectacular columns in the various golf publications —  this award came as a complete shock to me.  To have my name associated with great writers like Peter Stone, Martin Blake, Bruce Young and Mark Hayes is an absolute honour that I will always cherish.

“I would like to thank the AGWA,  my team at Inside Golf, all of our readers and the various individuals who offered feedback, quotes and information for  the column. You are all truly appreciated.”

The award is Fellner’s second AGWA gong, following his 2007 award for “Photojournalism – Best Photograph, Magazine“, also for Inside Golf.

The award winners were decided by a panel led by noted sports journalist Mr Jim Webster OAM and representatives from Golf Australia, the PGA of Australia and the Australian Ladies Professional Golfers Inc.

The President of the Australian Golf Writers Association Mr. Brendan Moloney said he was pleased to see the golfing community again support the Australian Golf Media Awards which continue to grow in stature each year.

“The Australian Golf Writers Association congratulates the winners of the 2011-2012 Australian Golf Media Awards,” said Moloney.

“Now in their 17th year, the awards acknowledge excellence in writing, photography and broadcasting by AGWA members and non-members alike. The announcement of the winners is always a highlight of our annual dinner during the Australian Open.”

“Nearly 200 entries for the 10 categories were received from Australia and overseas. As well as congratulating the winners, we’d like to thank the judging panel of Jim Webster OAM, Bruce Baskett, Hamish Jones, Nicole O’Farrell, and Sandy Lonergan.”

The complete list of winners at this year’s Australian Golf Media Awards is below.

Best Column – Print
Richard Fellner, Inside Golf

Electronic Media – Internet – Best Feature or Report

Photojournalism, Best photograph
Phil Hillyard – Daily Telegraph/ News Limited

Electronic Media – Radio – Best Feature or Report
ABC Grandstand Team

Best Feature Story – Newspaper
Joint winners: Martin Blake, The Age / Fairfax Media and  Mark Hayes, Herald Sun / News Limited

Print: Best Feature or Report – Women’s Professional Golf
Brendan James, Golf Australia Magazine

Best Report – Newspaper
Peter Stone, Sydney Morning Herald

Best Feature Story/ Report – Magazine
Ben Everill, Golf Australia Magazine

Best Feature / Story Amateur Golf
Tony Webeck, Australian Golf Digest

Television – Best Feature Story/ Report
Steve Pearce, ABC Grandstand

Life Membership
George Begg

About Inside Golf

Australia's Golf News Leader, Inside Golf gives you in-depth coverage of Australian golf news, golf events, golf travel and holiday destinations, Australian and international golf course reviews, the hottest new golf gear and tips and drills to improve your golf game. Written by award-winning journalists, Inside Golf also features interviews with Australia's top professional golfers, the game's rising stars, industry leaders and golf equipment manufacturers. You can even win great golf prizes and equipment. It’s all in Inside Golf. FREE at Australian golf courses, driving ranges and golf retailers across Australia.


Follow on Twitter Connect on Facebook View all Posts Visit Website

Related Posts

Comment via Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.