Jason Day tosses out autographed pin flags to fans during the final round of THE PLAYERS Championship 2016. (Photo by Stan Badz/PGA TOUR)

It’s good to be Jason Day these days.

The Australian golfer returns to TPC Sawgrass this week fresh off a win at the Wells Fargo Championship, his second victory of the season. And he’ll take a shot at a third at THE PLAYERS Championship, where he won in 2016. Surely, few in the field probably feel better about their chances than Day.

“Obviously THE PLAYERS is such a huge event,” Day said Sunday after his victory. “It feels like a major to me and I’m sure it feels like a major to most guys. It’s really nice to be able to play pretty solid for the most part of the week. The short game is really nice, it’s rounding out nicely for next week.

“I’ve obviously got a lot of work to do over the next few days. I’m going to enjoy tonight and obviously enjoy this win, but once tomorrow starts, it’s got to focus back on THE PLAYERS and trying to win that one.”

Day is one of six Australians in the field looking to bring back a sixth title to his home country. Joining him are Adam Scott—who won THE PLAYERS in 2004—Marc Leishman, Geoff Ogilvy, Rod Pampling and Cameron Smith.

Each has encountered their share of success on THE PLAYERS Stadium Course. Leishman’s best finish was a T8 showing in 2013, Ogilvy had a T12 in 2012, while Pampling recorded a T27 performance in 2005. Cameron Smith made his only start in the event last year and failed to make the cut.

Should Day or Scott win, they would join fellow Australian Steve Elkington as a two-time winner (1991, 1997). Greg Norman also brought home a victory in 1994.

Below is a complete list of Australians to compete in the prestigious PLAYERS Championship:


Player Best Finish Year Last Start Total Starts
Robert Allenby 2nd 2010 2015 (T56) 18
Stuart Appleby T14 1997 2014 (T77) 15
Aaron Baddeley T9 2009 2017 (T41) 14
Ian Baker-Finch T2 1992 1996 (Cut) 8
Steven Bowditch T48 2014 2016 (Cut) 3
Greg Chalmers T9 2000 2017 (Cut) 10
Bruce Crampton 3rd 1974 1976 (T27) 3
Rodger Davis 68th 1987 1992 (Cut) 3
Jason Day Won 2016 2017 (T60) 7
Bruce Devlin T3 1977 1983 (Cut) 9
Steve Elkington Won 1991, 1997 2009 (Cut) 19
Mathew Goggin T12 2007 2010 (Cut) 5
Paul Gow Cut 2002 2002 (Cut) 1
Wayne Grady T19 1996 2000 (Cut) 15
David Graham T9 1976 1991 (Cut) 17
Nathan Green T16 2007 2010 (Cut) 5
Richard Green T46 2005 2005 (T16) 1
Bradley Hughes T62 1999 2001 (Cut) 3
Matt Jones T17 2014 2016 (Cut) 6
Stephen Leaney Cut 2003 2008 (Cut) 6
Marc Leishman T8 2013 2017 (Cut) 8
Peter Lonard T6 2007 2009 (Cut) 7
Graham Marsh T5 1977 1980 (Cut) 4
Jack Newton T9 1979 1981 (Cut) 3
James Nitties T39 2010 2010 (T39) 1
Greg Norman Won 1994 2004 (T81) 21
Nick O’Hern T24 2005 2012 (Cut) 8
Geoff Ogilvy T12 2012 2015 (T24) 14
Brett Ogle T61 1993 1996 (Cut) 4
Rod Pampling T27 2005 2017 (T48) 10
Craig Parry T6 1992 2006 (T22) 17
Steve Rintoul Cut 1995 1995 (Cut) 1
Adam Scott Won 2004 2017 (T6) 16
John Senden T8 2015 2016 (Cut) 14
Peter Senior Cut 1991 1994 (Cut) 2
Bob Shearer T20 1978 1984 (Cut) 7
Cameron Smith Cut 2017 2017 (Cut) 1

About Inside Golf

Australia's Golf News Leader, Inside Golf gives you in-depth coverage of Australian golf news, golf events, golf travel and holiday destinations, Australian and international golf course reviews, the hottest new golf gear and tips and drills to improve your golf game. Written by award-winning journalists, Inside Golf also features interviews with Australia's top professional golfers, the game's rising stars, industry leaders and golf equipment manufacturers. You can even win great golf prizes and equipment. It’s all in Inside Golf. FREE at Australian golf courses, driving ranges and golf retailers across Australia.


Follow on Twitter Connect on Facebook View all Posts Visit Website

Related Posts

Comments Closed