Caption: Adam Scott is among a small band of Australians to succeed at The Players. Photo: Chris Condon/PGA Tour
Adam Scott is among a small band of Australians to succeed at The Players. Photo: Chris Condon/PGA Tour

By 1980, The Players Championship was no longer a newcomer to the golf scene.

Started in 1974 by then PGA Tour Commissioner Deane Beman at Atlanta Country Club in Georgia, The Players Championship rotated to various courses throughout the U.S., before finally moving permanently to the enclave of Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., in 1977, a city outside Jacksonville where the PGA Tour would eventually move its headquarters. Sawgrass Country Club hosted the event from 1977 to 1981, so in the final year the Tour contested the tournament at the seaside golf course, Aussie players Jack Newton, Bruce Devlin, David Graham and Bob Shearer all teed it up in the tournament but none made it to the weekend. It was the first time in Players history that an Australian had not played 72 holes in what had become the PGA Tour’s flagship event.

In 1998, that dubious history repeated itself. Stuart Appleby, Craig Parry and Wayne Grady didn’t play well at TPC Sawgrass, the tournament’s home since 1982, and they, too, sat on the sidelines on the weekend. In every other year of the tournament’s 43-year history, Australians have made the cut, many playing well and some—we’re looking at you Steve Elkington, Greg Norman, Adam Scott and Jason Day—winning the tournament.

This month, another group of Australians will try to join that quartet, etching their names in history as Australians who have won The Players Championship, a tournament contested on an iconic golf course. Here’s a look at the best finish, by year, of Australians in The Players Championship.


Year Player Finish
1974 Bruce Crampton 3rd
1975 Bruce Crampton T34
1976 David Graham T9
1977 Bruce Devlin T3
1978 David Graham T20
1979 Jack Newton T9
1980 David Graham T41
1981 None
1982 Bob Shearer T72
1983 David Graham T35
1984 David Graham T41
1985 David Graham T33
1986 Greg Norman T33
1987 Greg Norman T4
1988 Greg Norman T11
1989 Greg Norman T4
1990 Steve Elkington T16
1991 Steve Elkington Won
1992 Ian Baker-Finch T2
1993 Greg Norman T3
1994 Greg Norman Won
1995 Greg Norman T37
1996 Steve Elkington T19
1997 Steve Elkington Won
1998 None
1999 Steve Elkington T38
2000 Greg Chalmers T9
2001 Robert Allenby T21
2002 Robert Allenby T11
2003 Robert Allenby T4
2004 Adam Scott Won
2005 Steve Elkington T6
2006 Greg Owen, Craig Parry T22
2007 Peter Lonard, Adam Scott T6
2008 Stuart Appleby T15
2009 Aaron Baddeley T9
2010 Robert Allenby T2
2011 Aaron Baddeley, Jason Day T6
2012 Geoff Ogilvy T12
2013 Marc Leishman T8
2014 Matt Jones T17
2015 John Senden T8
2016 Jason Day Won



Story submitted via the PGA Tour

About Inside Golf

Australia's Golf News Leader, Inside Golf gives you in-depth coverage of Australian golf news, golf events, golf travel and holiday destinations, Australian and international golf course reviews, the hottest new golf gear and tips and drills to improve your golf game. Written by award-winning journalists, Inside Golf also features interviews with Australia's top professional golfers, the game's rising stars, industry leaders and golf equipment manufacturers. You can even win great golf prizes and equipment. It’s all in Inside Golf. FREE at Australian golf courses, driving ranges and golf retailers across Australia.


Follow on Twitter Connect on Facebook View all Posts Visit Website

Comments Closed